Eight Watford Juniors Represent Region at Water Polo Inter-Regionals

This weekend 11th & 12th Feb the ASA U18’s Inter-Regional Championships take place at Woodside Leisure Centre.

The club has Eight U18’s players representing both the East & London Regions, with players attracted to the club from North London both Aril Pandaya & Peter Djordic have made the cut to represent the London Region.

Six Watford Players, Jarryd Myburgh, Will Eggleton, Thuish Kumarage, Jack Warman, Nikhil Patel & Adam Page will be representing the East Region over the weekend.

inter-regionals 2017
Watford Players Petar Djordjic (on the right) will represent London Region & Adam Page will represent The East Region

East Region Head Coach Dean Walker commented ahead of the weekend’s fixtures “I believe that this squad is the strongest boys squad we have put together since the inception of the Regional format. The East will be looking to make the Semis and hoping to medal for the first time”.

The tournament starts on Saturday afternoon with the nine Regions entered drawn into two groups, each team will face the other within their group on the Saturday & then on Sunday the top two from each group will face off in the semi-finals, Final & bronze medal matches.

The remaining five teams will battle it out for fifth to ninth positions.

London Region who finished fourth in last year’s Championship will be hoping that this is their year but they have a tough task on their hands if they want to make the top two as they are drawn in Group A, along-side Champions North West Steelers, South East, Ireland & Wales.

East Region drawn in Group B will face 2016 Runners-up South West & third placed North West Tigers along with Scotland.

The tournament starts on Saturday from 13.00pm until 21.00pm and then resumes on Sunday morning at 8.30am with the first semi-finals at 9.30am & second Semi at 11.00am. The final will be held from 13.30pm

Grp A

A 1 – North West Steelers (1), A2 – South East, A3 – Wales, A4 – London (4), A5 – Ireland

Grp B - B1 – North West Tigers (3), B2 – South West (2), B3 – East, B4 – Scotland