Herts Boys retain the ER Inter-Counties ‘Andy Morton’ trophy for 2015

The Herts Boys team retained the ‘Andy Morton’ East Region trophy for a third year following a successfully afternoon & evening’s polo at Basildon Sports Village on Saturday 7th Nov.
This year’s East Region Inter-County Championships was contested by only three county sides, reigning Champions Hertfordshire, Essex & Suffolk.

The opening match for the Boys competition was Herts v Suffolk and in an entertaining opening first quarter which saw Suffolk briefly lead at 1-0, Herts went on to take control of the game & win the opening quarter 4-2.

Herts them maintain this advantage & built on it as by half time they had established an 8-4 lead . The second half saw both sides cancel the other out as a 2-2 draw in each quarter meant Herts won their opening match 12-5.

Herts goalscorers v Suffolk – Ross Leon (3), Jonny Walker (3), Max Dixon (2), Joey Gardner-White (2), Jarryd Myburgh, Josh Silverbeck.

The second game of the day saw Essex play Suffolk and in a one sided contest Essex won 10-1 to set up a winner takes all between Essex & Hertfordshire in the last game of the Championships.

The game of the Championship started with Herts adopting a ball line press which Essex didn’t have an answer too & on each Essex attack the press stopped them getting the ball to their forward players and Herts took possession and turning defence into attack the Herts team established a 2-0 lead after the first quarter.

Into the second & with Herts maintaining their tactics a further three goals extended their lead to 5-0. A rare lapse in defence did allow Essex to score but at half time Herts were in control of the match at 5-1.

The third period saw the sides battle out a 0-0 quarter, several times Herts should have extended their advantage but a combination of good goal keeping from the Essex N0 1, the Goalies friend the bar & post coming to Essex’s rescue & some poor finishing from Herts meant they couldn’t find a way though, at the other end the Herts defence & that pressing tactic kept Essex out.

Into the final period and Essex had to go for broke & Herts just needed to maintain their composure to remain Champions & they did it, again the press kept Essex out for long periods but they did manage to score twice but with two goals from the Herts team fought out a 2-2 quarter to win the match & the ‘Andy Morton’ trophy 7-3.

Herts goalscorers v Essex – Max Dixon (2), Jack Warman (2), Thushi Kumarage (1), Joey Gardner-White (1), Jarryd Myburgh (1).

Herts Winning Team
Herts Team – James Warman (Ass Coach), Will Eggleton, Thushi Kumarage, Jonny Walker, Joey Gardner-White, Jack Warman, Josh Silverbeck, Jarryd Myburgh, Matt Rosenfeld, Steve Chambers (Head Coach) Heidi Rosenfeld (Team Manager) Front Row:Paras Shah, Ross Leon, Max Dixon, Alex Jones, Jake Kovacs (GK)